Westie Fitness

Staying fit so I can outrun my son

So what have I done?

I managed to find my wife an exercise bike, make myself feel like I was about to become a cripple, and take up swimming.

What have I achieved?

I have, for the first time ever, set myself up to run more than 5km. I did this in a way that was not sustainable.

I worked myself up to swimming freestyle for over 1km, which is a first ever for me.

I have returned to work (in Canberra), where I have joined Golds Gym – even though it is not quite open yet – as a foundation member. My coming fitness goals, will be achieved both in and out of the gym – with in-gym work, a program to follow at home, and some attention to food. No doubt, as has happened with me in the past, the harder that my alcohol consumption makes my fitness work at the gym – the less alcohol I will drink.

I will be conducting a fitness assesment in the next couple of weeks, then following up with weekly updates each weekend on this blog. I will track my fitness, in terms of regular fitness tests, along with tracking my gym workout results.

Back to some lifting. I enjoy it in ways I didn’t think I would before I was 30 years old, but I’ve been missing it for a couple of years, now.

One response to “So what have I done?

  1. Westie February 23, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Reblogged this on ImaWestie and commented:

    Quick blog post on Westiefit about my (lack of?) progress since January 14.

    Some goals have been set, and some tools are in place.

Leave a Reply

